
 
 
 

 
June Plays and Clarifications   

 
Comments from the National Umpire Staff 

The ASA/USA softball season is well underway around the country. Questions 
about rules, players and National Championships are flowing in as normal this 
time of year. Players, coaches and umpires are asking rule questions so they can 
prepared for National Championship Play. 

Fast Pitch Pitching: 

 
One question that always comes up is about Illegal Pitches especially in the 
Junior Olympic and Women’s Classification of Play. These questions center on if 
a Pitcher is legal or illegal, position of feet, number of arm revolutions and taking 
a signal. The majority seem to be about the position of the feet and whether a 
pitcher is “pushing and dragging” or “leaping”.  
 
An umpire should always presume that a pitcher is legal unless they do 
something to prove they are illegal. Do not enter a game looking for what a 
pitcher might be doing that is illegal. Enter the game with the mindset that the 
pitcher is legal.  Do not enter the game thinking they are illegal and I am going to 
catch them being illegal. 
 
There are many styles and motions to pitching. Some of them might appear to be 
illegal but when you break them down they are legal. In today’s world of 
technology you can see videos at all sorts of speed to watch a pitcher and their 
delivery. If you have to take a camera and slow it down to tell if a pitcher is legal 
or illegal because you cannot tell in real time, more often than not the pitcher is 
legal.  
 
When specific pitching questions are asked about pitchers they usually center 
around the “push and drag” required in the Women’s and Junior Olympic Game. 
Here are some good ways to differentiate “a leap” and “a push and drag” from 
Julie Johnson, ASA/USA Northern Territory Deputy Director of Umpires and 
National Federation of High Schools Rules Committee Chairman. 
 
 “First thing, please don't get hung up on the terms "leap" and "crow hop." As an 
umpire you just need to see if the pitcher is in compliance with the rules. 
Rule 6, Section 1C states that the pitcher must start the pitch with both feet in 
contact with, and within the 24" length of the pitcher's plate. 



Rule 6, Section 2 states the pitch starts when the hands separate once they 
have been brought together. 
Rule 6, Section 3I states that the pivot foot (right hand pitcher - right foot; left 
hand pitcher - left foot) may turn or slide or slide toward the batter provided it 
remains in contact with the pitcher's plate.  What that means for me 

Rule 6, Section 3K states that pushing off and dragging the pivot foot in contact 
with the ground is required. If a hole has been created, the pivot foot may drag 
no higher than the level plane of the ground. 

as an umpire 
is that I need to make sure both feet are still in contact with the pitcher's plate 
when the hands separate to start the pitch. 

As long as some part of the pivot foot is touching the ground during the drag, it is 
legal by rule. If the pivot foot breaks contact with the ground before the non-pivot 
foot lands, an illegal pitch should be called provided there was not a hole in front 
of the pitcher's plate and the pitcher would have dragged the ground had that 
hole not been there. When explaining to a coach that the pitch was illegal, do not 
use the words "leap" or "crow hop." 

As an umpire I need to make sure I 
take into consideration that the toe would have dragged the ground if the dirt was 
in front of the pitching plate. 

Simply state the pivot foot did not remain 
in contact with the ground until the non-pivot foot landed

 

. This is the best 
way to let the coach know that the pitcher violated the rule along with what needs 
to be corrected. Leaping and crow hopping are terms which describe different 
"styles" of illegal pitches in the female pitching rule.  It is not important to put a 
name to what is illegal however, it is important to let the coach know what rule 
was violated so the pitching coach can correct the problem. Simply inform the 
coach what the pitcher did to violate the rule. Example: "Coach or pitcher, the 
foot needs to be in contact with the ground until the non-pivot foot lands." 

We have a new Easton Bat that has been submitted for approval, approved and 
posted on the ASA/USA Equipment website. The Model name of this bat is the 
Mako Torq. The bat has a rotating handle. The bottom of the handle, 
approximately 4 inches, and knob rotate. The grip is a two piece grip butted 
together and meets our rule, Rule 3, Section 1D.  

Equipment: 

 
We are pointing this out because of the rotating handle and knob. We need to 
make sure we as umpires realize that this handle design and even though it 
rotates it does not violate ASA/USA rules.  
 
As umpires we have always checked the joint on two piece bats and if the joint 
was loose and or rotated we took that bat out of play. In this case the handle by 
design will rotate. Education of our umpires about this design is essential so that 
we do not remove this bat from Championship play. 
 
 
 
 



The 2015 UIC Clinic is closer than we think. Meeting about topics, costs, agenda 
and many more items have been underway for several months. More exact 
details about the clinic will be coming out in the future months. However we want 
you to mark your calendars, the dates are February 5

2015 Biennial UIC Clinic: 

th – 8th

 

 2015. Please plan 
on attending and taking home a lot of great information to your Local Association 
Umpires.  

We want to clarify a mechanic that may be misunderstood because of our 
definitions in Rule 1 and in the mechanics Manual. In teaching and discussing 
the inside outside theory we use the terminology if the ball goes outside the 
diamond or infield we come inside the infield. When that ball stays inside the 
diamond or infield we stay outside the infield. Rule 1 Definitions: INFIELD: That 
portion of the field in fair territory that includes areas normally covered by 
infielders. In the umpire manual we state: The Inside / Outside Theory is simple: 

Mechanics: 

• If the ball is hit inside the diamond stay outside the diamond. 
• If the ball is hit outside the infield move inside the infield. 
This allows the four elements to be in front of you; the ball, the base, the offense 
and the defense. 
 
The confusion seems to be when the ball is hit in the infield and there is an 
overthrow to 1B. If the ball is overthrown and stays inside the infield area, in this 
case fair and foul territory is considered in the infield, then the umpire should stay 
out so they still have all 4 elements in front of them. Draw an imaginary line from 
the outer edge of the base to the out of play area and if the ball stays in the area 
stay outside. If the ball is over thrown and goes outside the infield / diamond then 
come inside the diamond. Keep in mind when deciding to come inside the 
diamond, do this to keep all 4 elements in from of you. There are times when the 
ball is overthrown and it may be slightly outside the diamond / infield and you are 
stuck cannot get inside. This is when you have to umpire and try to get to the 
best position possible. Remember just because the ball is in foul ground on an 
overthrow it does not mean it is outside the infield and or diamond. Keep all four 
elements in front of you is the key as to if you need to come in or stay out.  
 

 
Plays and Clarifications: 

Play:  With one out and R1 on 1B, B3 hits a ground ball that deflects off F1’s 
glove towards F4.  R1 in trying to get out of the way bumps F4 causing F4 to 
miss play the ball resulting in B3 being safe at 1B.  The umpire allows play to 
continue with no outs being called. 
Ruling:

 

  The umpires are correct in not calling interference if they considered the 
contact unintentional. The ball was deflected and ASA/USA rules requires the 
runner to be called out for interference if the contact is intentional. Rule 8, 
Section 7J[4]. 



Play:  With no outs and R1 on 2B and R2 on 1B, B3 bunts the ball and is thrown 
out at 1B.  R1 advances to 3B and R2 to 2B. After the first pitch to B4, F2 returns 
the ball to F1 removes her mask and glove and walks toward the pitcher’s circle 
at which time the plate umpire calls “time.” After that half inning ends the coach 
of the team that was on defense tells the umpire not to call time when their 
catcher removes their equipment and goes to the pitching circle. He informs the 
umpire that they had a trick play they use to draw the runners off their bases thus 
getting a runner called out for violation of the Look Back Rule.  
Ruling:

 

  We do not specifically mention trick plays in the ASA/USA Rule Book or 
Umpire Manual. If all playing action is over and the pitcher has the ball in the 
eight foot circle, the runners are required to go one way or the other. That said 
we should teach umpires as part of Game Management that any time the catcher 
goes to the eight foot circle to talk to the pitcher “time” should be called as long 
as all play has ceased. In this case, this would be interpreted as the runners 
have returned to or are returning to their base. Umpires should call “time” as a 
courtesy for the catcher so that the one time the catcher forgets to request time 
they are covered by our mechanics. We should not let a mechanic that was 
started to protect the defense become a trick play.  We will call time when the 
catcher vacates their position to go to the circle to protect them as well as the 
integrity of the game. Rule 8, Section 7T, 

Play:  With one out, R1 on 3B, R2 on 1B, B4 hits a ground ball to F6 who throws 
to 2B to retire R2.  On the relay throw to 1B, R2 interferences with the throw.  R1 
had scored prior to the interference occurring so the next runner closest to home 
is B4 who the umpire calls out for the third out.  Does R1’s run count? 
Ruling:

 

  Since the third out of the inning is on the batter-runner at 1B, the run 
would not count. Rule 5, Section 5B. 

Play:  With R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a sharp grounder back to F1 who 
knocks it down and it rolls toward the foul line.  F1 picks the ball up and throws to 
1B and the ball rolls into dead ball territory.  B3 had already passed 1B when the 
ball left F1’s hand.  Neither R1 nor R2 had advanced. 
Ruling:

 

  The ball is dead, R1 and R2 are awarded home and B3 is awarded 3B. 
Rule 8, Section 5G 

Play:  With R1 on 3B and R2 on 2B, B3 hits a ball toward 3B.  R1 (a) touches the 
batted ball over fair ground while proceeding toward home plate, (b) collides with 
F5 attempting to throw the ball toward 1B.  R2 reaches 3B before R1 interferes. 
Ruling:

 

  In both (a) and (b) the ball is dead and R1 is out for interference.  R2 
remains at 3B since the interference occurred after R2 legally touched the base. 
Rule 8, Section 6C; Rule 8, Section 7J[2]. 

 
 
 
 
                                                                                         


