
Plays and Clarifica.ons 

May 2025 

As the 2025 USA So-ball Championship season gets underway, this is a good =me to con=nue your 
review of USA So-ball rules and mechanics, including any 2025 rule changes that may affect you. It’s 
also a good =me to take a close look at your uniform and equipment and make sure everything is 
clean and ready for Championship play.  Remember, if you have the opportunity to work in a 
Na=onal Championship, you are not only represen=ng yourself, but you are represen=ng your local 
associa=on, the USA So-ball Umpire program and all of USA So-ball. 

Umpires selected for a Na=onal Championship should be prepared for umpiring in the heat of 
summer.  Temperatures can be very extreme.  Now is the =me to get in shape to be ready to handle 
whatever weather you may experience.  Start hydra=ng now and prepare yourselves to stay healthy 
and focused in order to give your best to each game.  Take care of yourselves star=ng now.  It’s never 
too soon to begin. 

As a reminder, in 2024 USA So-ball adopted the recommenda=on to make charcoal grey pants part 
of the official umpire uniform. Since this change is being phased in over a three-year period 
beginning with the 2025 season, this year’s Na=onal Championship umpires may wear either 
heather grey or charcoal grey pants.  All umpires on the field together must wear the same shade of 
grey.  It is your responsibility to follow the instruc=ons of your Na=onal Championship UIC as well as 
USA So-ball regarding uniform requirements. 

UIC Clinic 

The 2025 UIC Clinic will be held this year October 23-25 in Oklahoma City at the Oklahoma City 
Conven=on Center with instruc=on star=ng on October 24.  Just a friendly reminder, if you haven’t 
already registered for this event, informa=on is available at the following link: 

www.usaso-ball.com/umpires/uic-clinic 

Plays 

Play: With a single runner at 1B, B2 hits a hard ground ball between F3 and F4.  As F3 makes an 
aXempt to field the ball, the ball glances off F3’s glove and hits the runner who is a couple steps off 
of 1B. F4 is in posi=on behind R1, ready to field the ball.  (a) Should the umpire call dead ball and 
declare the runner out since the ball hit the runner a-er passing a fielder and another fielder had 
the opportunity to make an out? (b) What would the correct ruling be if F3 did not touch the hit 
ball? 

Ruling: (a) No.  Since the ball was touched by F3, the ball remains live.  The runner is not declared 
out by rule.  Rule 8-1E {1} 
(b) In this case, a-er the ball passes the fielder and contacts the runner and another fielder has the 
opportunity to make an out, the ball is dead, the runner is out, the baXer-runner is awarded first 
base, and runners are advanced one base if forced.  Rule 8-1E {5} 



Play: No Runners on and no outs.  There is a dropped third strike.  The ball rolls into foul territory 
toward the first base dugout.  The baXer-runner runs toward 1B completely in fair territory.  The 
throw from F2 to F3 strikes the baXer-runner two steps from 1B.  Should the baXer-runner be called 
out for interference? 

Ruling: No, this is not interference.  The baXer-runner may run outside the three-foot running lane if 
the defensive player uses the foul por=on of the double base and the throw is coming from foul side 
of first base.  Rule 8-2E, 8-2N {4} 

Play: In a fast pitch game with bases loaded and two outs, B6 hits a high fly ball near the right field 
fence that eventually goes over the fence for a home run.  On the hit, both R1 and R2 immediately 
start running the bases.  R1 scores easily from 3B and R2 is more than halfway to the plate.  
However, R3 is watching the hit ball and is about 20 feet off 1B when the baXer-runner, who is also 
watching the ball, passes them.  What is the correct ruling? Do any runs count? 

Ruling: When a runner physically passes a preceding runner, the ball remains live and the runner 
who passes the preceding runner is out.  If this is the 3rd out, any runs scored prior to the passing 
would count.  In this case, the baXer-runner is called out for the 3rd out.  And because R1 scored 
prior to the baXer-runner passing R3, one run would count.  Rule 8-7D 

  


